Browser Notifications
Cybercriminal Image 2

Browser Notifications

What Are Browser Notifications?

Most internet browsers allow websites to offer browser notifications. The first time you visit a website that offers browser notifications, you will see a pop-up message at the top of your browser window asking you to either allow or block notifications. If you choose to allow them, browser notifications can be displayed at any time, even when you are not on that website. These notifications are typically used for things like blog updates, social media interactions, and upcoming sales. Unfortunately, cybercriminals can also send their own malicious browser notifications to steal your money and information.

How Do Cybercriminals Use Browser Notifications?

Cybercriminals can use two different methods to send you malicious browser notifications. They can either hijack a legitimate website and offer fake notifications from that website, or they can trick you into allowing notifications while visiting a malicious website. For example, in one scam, cybercriminals used a malicious website that appeared to be a video player and instructed users to click “Allow” before they could play a video. 
Once cybercriminals are able to send you browser notifications, they can use the notifications in several ways:

  • They can display excessive pop-up messages, inappropriate content, or other disruptive material in your browser. This tactic allows cybercriminals to hold your system hostage while they demand a ransom.
  • They can send you malicious advertisements, also known as malvertising. Malvertising is when cybercriminals use ads to spread malware, trick you into providing sensitive information, or steal your money using fake storefronts. 
  • They can include malicious files and code within browser notifications. If you click on one of these malicious notifications, your system may be automatically prompted to download a piece of malware. 

Hints and Tips to Stay Safe

Use the tips below to stay safe from malicious browser notifications:

  • Think before you click! Whether it is a browser notification or another kind of pop-up message, always read and consider a prompt before taking action.
  • Check the permissions settings within your browser and only allow notifications for websites that you know and trust. Most browsers include a list of websites that are allowed to send you notifications. Some browsers also allow you to globally block notifications for all websites.

Keep your browser and other software up-to-date. Software updates often include security patches that help close known vulnerabilities. We recommend enabling automatic updates to ensure that your browser is always up-to-date.



Knowbe4 Logo

Stop, Look, and Think. Don’t be fooled.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

More Posts

MFA to Zero Trust Image
Cybersecurity

How to go from MFA to Zero Trust

Increased connectivity, coupled with the rise of remote and hybrid work, is prompting organizations to evolve their user access security and make strides toward a

Cybersecurity Training Image
Cybersecurity

Yearly Cyber Training Doesn’t Work

If you’re sticking to once-a-year sessions for your employees, it’s time to rethink your approach. Let’s face it, it’s likely dull and uninspiring. And if

Fact vs Myth Image
Cybersecurity

Debunking 5 Common Internet Myths

In the vast landscape of the internet, myths and misconceptions often abound, shaping our perceptions and influencing our online behaviors. At Citynet, we’re committed to

SuperPod with WiFi 6E

Plume SuperPod WiFi 6E Specs

SuperPod with WiFi 6

Plume SuperPod WiFi 6 Specs

SuperPod

Plume SuperPod Secs